Symphony 1: The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World

In the Ancient World the seven most beautiful monuments were called 'The seven Wonders of the World'. In his Symphony nr.1, The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World' the young Dutch composer Alex Poelman has made a musical portrait of these splendid human realizations which are now, but for one, all destroyed. The symphony is masterly and lavishly orchestrated and portrays both the power of the sovereigns of ancient times and the splendour of the most beautiful buildings and works of art they have had built. Moreover, neither the seducing Eastern charm nor the mysterious exotic atmosphere are failing.

The score consists of seven movements, each describing a world wonder:
I: The Temple of Artemis
II: The Great Pyramid of Cheops
III: The Statue of Zeus
IV: The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
V: The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
VI: The Lighthouse of Alexandria
VII: The Collosus of Rhodos

Duration: 00:37:30
Grade: F
Composed in: 2004
Instrumentation: Wind Orchestra

buy this score at Molenaar Edition BV


return to compositions overview