The composition Pegasus tells us the most famous stories about the flying horse. From birth to his constellation and from his spectacular flight to the suffering of Bellerophon. The score is devided into four movements:

Movement I: The Birth of Pegasus
Pegasus did not come to earth in very normal way. It was Perseus, one of the greatest Greek heroes, who with the beheading of Medusa, the serpent hair woman, brought Pegasus to live. The blood drops of Medusa dripped down the stairs of her temple and eventually reached the ocean, sea god Poseisons domain. Out of the foam of the sea and the blood of medusa, Pegasus was born. The first movement starts with this awkward birth.
Movement II: Pegasus' Flight
Pegasus swiflty galops through the forests, over the plains and fields. He takes off and plays with the wind. After a while he sets down near his own fountain. Bellerophon jumps from behind the bushes on pegasus and tries to tame him. Together they have great adventures, slay monsters and safe people. Bellerophon has become a great hero, but his fame and longing for success go to his head. He wants to join the gods on mount Olympus. When Hermes informs Zeus of the approaching Bellerophon, Zeus sends a gadfly to sting Pegasus. Bellerophon is tossed off the horse and falls down hundreds of meters.
Movement III: Bellerophons Suffering
Bellerophon got blind by his fall and can no longer use his legs. Unfortunately he will live and suffer for many years, before he eventually dies.
Movement IV: The Constellation of Pegasus
Pegasus did arrive at mount Olympus and there he became the horse of Zeus. And every morning Eos, the goddess of dawn, rode him on earth to bring a new day to the earthlings. After many years of service he became a constellation.

Duration: 00:15:00
Grade: D
Composed in: 2009
Instrumentation: Wind Orchestra

buy this score at Molenaar Edition BV


return to compositions overview